19.12.23 Naming the bedrooms
Read Article

Our first wedding at Henblas is fast approaching and we’ve been busy putting the finishing touches on each of the 10 bedrooms.

From the start of the project, we’ve been very keen to keep the history of the building at the fore front, we certainly didn’t want to turn each room in generic white boxes! Each one is unique and individual, all facing onto the beautiful wildflower garden in the courtyard. The building was originally constructed as agricultural barns in 1811 for the Henblas Estate. More recently, the building was used as stables in the mid 1900’s and more recently was converted into a children’s adventure park in the late 1990’s. With this in mind, we’ve decided to name each of the rooms with their history in mind. Here are just a few of our favourites!


The Smithy/ Yr Efail

The Smithy is certainly one of our most requested rooms! From the floor to ceiling stonework, to the full width windows, it really is a spectacular bedroom. The Smithy would have been an integral part of the Stables, and we found many horseshoes attached to the beams and nailed to the walls. This room also contained a wooden beam from a historic shipwreck, complete with etchings and date stamps on the woodwork. Unfortunately this piece had to be removed during the renovation but has been treated, restored and reused in the bridal suite bedroom.


The Old Gift Shop/Yr Hen Siop Anrhegion

Another personal favourite, the old gift shop has been repurposed to combine our entrance walkway and one of our largest bedrooms. The woodwork on the walls and ceiling has been keep and reused from the original barns. Complete with a huge bathroom with a free standing tub, this bedroom is perfect for the mother of the bride!


The Old Cottage and The Annex/Yr Hen Fwthyn a’r Atodiad

Two beautiful bedrooms, The Old Cottage and The Annex can be used as interlocking family rooms, perfect for families or the bridesmaids! This was the original cottage used in the early-mid 1900’s. The original fireplace was unfortunately removed as it was very unstable, however the original stonework behind, has been lovingly restored and is on display. The curved internal walls to the original bedroom and bathroom are still in place. The Old Cottage is unusual in its shape, due to the curve of the building.


The Bridal Suite/ Yr Ystafell Briodasol

The Bridal suite is a stunning mix of old and new, with the original beams, high ceilings and the original stone walls. Complete with a luxurious bathroom including a double shower and spectacular mountain views from the bath tub, it’s the perfect place for our brides and grooms to start married life!